A brilliant bright yellow leaved tree by a stoic monument on a green lawn.


A historic treasure in paradise…

A statue situated in front of a building with a grassy yard, a tree, and some plants

History of the Franciscan Estate

With lawns designed by the renowned Frederick Law Olmsted Brothers, the architects of New York City’s Central Park and Boston’s Emerald Necklace, the history of the Franciscan Estate is a captivating one. In 1947, the property was purchased by the Lithuanian Friars of St. Casimir Province who fled the Soviet invasion of Lithuania. From then, it became a religious center for the friars, the Lithuanian diaspora, and countless others.

In the 1950s, the friars opened St. Anthony’s High School, primarily to educate boys of Lithuanian heritage. The stables were converted into high school facilities, and new brick buildings, including the main classroom building, gymnasium, and pool, were added in the early 1960s. The friars served as both administrators and teachers, some of whom still reside at the Monastery today. In 1969, the high school closed and the property became a year round hotel/guest house and retreat center, offering a haven for guests seeking solace, rejuvenation, and memorable experiences.

The interior of a Catholic church with light shining through the windows.

St. Anthony’s Franciscan Monastery

St. Anthony’s Franciscan Monastery, located next to the Franciscan Guest House, is an active friary with expansive outdoor grounds open to the public from sunrise to sunset. Visitors are warmly welcomed by the friars to experience the serene beauty of the riverside walking paths, gardens, woodlands, and outdoor chapels. A “Walking Tour of the Shrines” brochure is available at the reception of the Franciscan Guest House.

Franciscan Guest House